School History - St. Patrick's N.S.

Go to content

Main menu:

School History

School Information

St. Patrick's N.S., in the picturesque village of Rathvilly, is situated in the north of Co. Carlow on the N81 between the towns of Baltinglass, to the north, and Tullow, to the south.  It currently has 203 students and 11 teaching staff.  While St Patricks N.S. is a Catholic school, we welcome children of all denominations and none.

St Patrick's N.S. was opened in 1956.  Before that children went to school in the building now known as the Pheonix Centre in Rathvilly village.
The site for the new school was donated by the Kearns family. When it opened in 1956, the building was divided into two sections, one for the girls and one for the boys.  The school building was much smaller than it is today, in fact there were only four classrooms.

Later as the number of children attending the school grew, the school had to be extended.  At first, a pre-fabricated unit containing two classrooms was erected in what is now the carpark area.  Later in the early 1980's five new classrooms were built, four to the rear of the existing building and one at the front.  Extensive renovations were also carried out to the original building at that time.  

In 2011, further development was necessary.  An upstairs section which included two new classrooms and a GP room was added to the rear section of the school.  The school which was originally built in 1956 was by now completely transformed into a much larger and more modern educational establishment.


 
Back to content | Back to main menu